By DENNIS GRALL U.P. Sports Hall of Fame

NEWBERRY, Mich. — Some of the Upper Peninsula’s best high school basketball players from the past season will be in Newberry Saturday for the 34th annual Upper Peninsula All-Star Classic.

It will be the first time for the game to be held in Newberry. Other games have been held in Marquette, at the high school and Northern Michigan University, Iron Mountain, Crystal Falls, Gladstone, Escanaba, Manistique, Gwinn, Negaunee, Cedarville and St. Ignace.

The game is staged by the Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame, with proceeds going to the UPSHF scholarship fund, which gives four U.P. athletes $500 a year over a four-year college career. One of those recipients this year is Luke Terrien of Kingsford, who will play for the South boys Saturday.

Highlighting the rosters will be Emily Coveyou of St. Ignace, who was selected Miss Basketball for 2018-19 by the U.P. Sportwriters and Sportscasters Association. Players in this game were All-U.P. selections in their final high school season.

Players will attend a brunch at 9 a.m., followed by a variety of skills contests — slam dunk, free throw shooting and 3-point shooting. An MVP will also be selected for each game.

The girls play in the opener at noon, with the boys playing in the finale, around 1:45.

The rosters:

North boys - Matt Ojala, Calumet; Nathan Beckman, Westwood; Bryce Brazeau, Marquette; George Butvilas, Houghton; Eddy Polakowski, Ontonagon; Brendon LeClaire, Dollar Bay; Griffen Revoyr, Ironwood; Tucker Taylor Gwinn; Marcus Harris and Tristan Lyons, Brimley. Coach, Chad Hewitt of Westwood.

South boys - Reece Castor, Gladstone; Caden Pellizzer, West Iron County; Tyler Beauchamp and Luke Terrien, Kingsford; Jaden Vicenzi, Iron Mountain; Joey Starzynski, Stephenson; Griffen Johnson, North Central; Matthew Bruette, North Dickinson; Andrew Blanchard, Engadine; Max Nylund, Forest Park. Coach, Walter Hanson, Engadine.

North girls - Sydney Kivi, Marquette; Ashyton Bell, Sault Ste. Marie; Mackenzie Karki, Negaunee; Madison Pruett, Ishpeming; Michaela Werner, Munising; Martina Jahfetson, Baraga; Cierra Molina, Rudyard; Jenna Pietila, Chassell. Coach, Kurt Corcoran, Westwood.

South girls - Emily Coveyou, St. Ignace; Riley Poupore, Iron Mountain; Lexi Chaillier, Escanaba; Hailee Demers and Cassidi Stannard, Bark River-Harris; Layla Blahnik-Thoune, Carney-Nadeau; Autumn Rasner, Stephenson; Chloe Wells, North Central; Adrian Depew, Newberry. Coach, Dorene Ingalls, St. Ignace.