EagleHerald/Brian Bell
Peshtigo’s Cade Tackmier shoots a jumper during the Bulldogs WIAA Division 2 playoff opener. Tackmier was named to the Packerland All-Conference first team.
EagleHerald/Brian Bell

Peshtigo’s Cade Tackmier shoots a jumper during the Bulldogs WIAA Division 2 playoff opener. Tackmier was named to the Packerland All-Conference first team.

PESHTIGO — Cade Tackmier, Breyden Demmith and Landon Lemke of the Peshtigo boys basketball team have been named to the Packerland All-Conference team. Meanwhile Oconto placed three players on the team as well with Josh Woller, Caleb Moe and Will Sherman.

Tackmier, who led the Bulldogs in nearly every statistical category, was rewarded with a first team nod along with Woller, who was one of only two juniors to receive that honor. Meanwhile Demmith, Lemke, Moe and Sherman were honorable mention selections.

Peshtigo coach Nate Motkowski was proud of his team this season. The Bulldogs went 15-8 overall and 10-6 in Packerland play to finish fourth in the conference standings.

“We knew it would be tough this year having lost ten seniors and Cade really being our only returning player with minutes,” Motkowski said, “But I’m proud of our two seniors (Tackmier and Demmith) for helping mold these young guys into varsity players. They controlled the team and the work they put in during the offense was great.”

The Bulldogs hit their stride in mid-January with a 4-game winning streak that sparked a stretch in which they won 8 out of 9 games to improve to 13-5. The season eventually ended in the WIAA Division 3 Regional semifinals against Xavier.

Tackmier had a tremendous season, pushing a triple double most nights while averaging 17 points, 8.4 rebounds and 4.4 assists against conference opponents.

Tackmier is currently narrowing his choice to play college basketball, and Motkowski is excited to see Tackmier take his game to the next level.

“Whatever school he chooses will be lucky to have him because he is a special kid,” Motkowski said. “He is one of the most skilled players I’ve worked with at Peshtigo. He can score, he can rebound and he can facilitate. His numbers could have been higher, but some nights he was asked to facilitate and help the younger players. Whatever we asked him to do to help the team win, he was willing to do it.”

Demmith averaged 8 points and 7.4 rebounds per game while providing some inside presence for the Bulldogs.

“Breyden was a leader for us and did a lot of little things that don’t necessarily show up in the box score,” Motkowski said. “He did a lot of things to help us win.”

Lemke, just a sophomore, was the team’s second leading scorer at 11.1 points per game while pulling down 6.4 rebounds.

“We asked a lot of Landon as just a sophomore,” Motkowski said. “For him to have this kind of season is really encouraging. He has only scratched the surface and is only going to improve.”

While the Bulldogs did get their season in before school shut down, Motkowski did have some advice to share with area athletes.

“This is certainly uncharted territory for everyone, but the main thing is taking care of yourself and your family,” he said. “Enjoy the time we had this season and continue to workout as best you can and be ready to help your team when we get back.”

2020 Packerland All-Conference Team

First Team

Name School Year

Tanor Bartolini, Kewaunee, Sr.

Marshal Bukowski, NEW Lutheran, Jr.

Ran Carmichael, Kewaunee, Sr.

Ryan Claffin, Southern Door, Sr.

Robb Pollman, Sevastopol, Sr.

Cade Tackmier, Peshtigo, Sr.

Gunnar Tebon, Sturgeon Bay, Sr.

Josh Woller, Oconto, Jr.

Second Team

Alex Daoust, Southern Door, Jr.

Jake Schneider, Sturgeon Bay, Sr.

Luke Steebs, Gibraltar, Jr.

Carter Zimmerman, Algoma, So.

Honorable Mention

Breyden Demmith, Peshtigo, Sr.

Brent Haberli, Sevastopol, Sr.

Max Hanrahan, Kewaunee, Sr.

Ben Heim, Kewaunee, So.

Dominic Krauel, Gibraltar, Sr.

Landon Lemke, Peshtigo, So.

Caleb Moe, Oconto, Jr.

Chase Peronto, Algoma, Sr.

Alex Rohr, Kewaunee, Jr.

Jason Slener, Kewaunee, Sr.

Will Sherman, Ocono, Jr.

Player of the Year

Ryan Claflin, Southern Door, Sr.