WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. — Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine will receive $9,845; Coleman, $29,106; Crivitz, $30,026; Marinette, $85,140; Niagara, $10,428; Peshtigo, $40,423; and Wausaukee, $20,579 from Wisconsin’s Common School Fund through the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands (BCPL).

Wisconsin’s K-12 public school libraries will receive $36.2 million thanks to earnings from Common School Fund investments. On behalf of the BCPL, State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski, BCPL Board Chair, presented State Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor with a ceremonial check at the Wisconsin Educational & Media Technology Association’s (WEMTA) annual conference at the Kalahari Resort in the Wisconsin Dells. 

“The Common School Fund is vital to Wisconsin students. In a recent survey of WEMTA members, 92 percent of respondents indicated that the Common School Fund is the only source of funding for their school library,” said Michele Green, WEMTA President. “This fund ensures that students have library and technology materials at their fingertips that are both current and relevant to their needs. WEMTA continually advocates for the preservation of the CSF, and we offer our greatest thanks to those at BCPL who work tirelessly to protect and manage these funds.”

Established in 1848 by Article X of the Wisconsin Constitution, BCPL was created to manage assets of the Common School Fund. This permanent endowment was initially funded from the sale of Federal lands granted to Wisconsin on becoming a state, and the Constitution specifically dedicated this fund for the benefit of public education.