Sue Plautz casts her vote in Tuesday’s election in the City of Menominee. The only contested race was for council member in Ward 3, where Josh Jones defeated Don Hudon. <br>EagleHerald/Mike Desotell
Sue Plautz casts her vote in Tuesday’s election in the City of Menominee. The only contested race was for council member in Ward 3, where Josh Jones defeated Don Hudon.
EagleHerald/Mike Desotell
MENOMINEE - Come January, Menominee will have a new city council member in Ward 3. Al Walker did not seek re-election so voters went to the polls Tuesday to choose between challengers Don Hudon and Josh Jones, the top two vote getters in the primary. After Tuesday's votes were tabulated, Jones defeated Hudon 237 to 49.
"It's exciting. A lot of work went into this, a lot of support from a lot of people." said Jones. "Now the real work begins."
Jones, who is wheelchair bound, thanked his parents for helping with setting up campaign signs and going door-to-door to deliver his message. He also thanked Hudon for running a clean campaign and said he looks forward to working with his fellow council members and the mayor.
One of Jones' first, and perhaps most important assignments, will be to work with the council on selecting a full-time city manager. Jones said he'd like to find someone who wants to, "be part of the community, be involved and have a vision for what Menominee could be or should be."
Hudon has served on the city council in the past and has a lot of pride in Menominee and his contributions to the community. Although he hasn't ruled out running in the future, for now he's happy for Jones.
"I hope he does a good job. I'm a good friend of his and best wishes to him," said Hudon. "He'll do a good job. He's young and aggressive. He'll just have to learn the ropes once he gets in there."
Voter turnout was very light, only 457 votes were cast in all. Wards 1, 2 and 4 were uncontested. Bill Plemel retained his seat in Ward 2, while Arnie Organ kept his seat in Ward 4. However, Ward 1 Council Member Mark Jasper announced in September that he would not serve another term because he was moving from the area. The notice came too late to have his name taken off the ballot and no write-in candidate stepped forward.
Jasper received 26 votes but since he will no longer be a resident, his seat will need to be filled. The city faced a similar situation in 2010 when then Ward 4 Council Member Todd Schloegel stepped down during his term. What the city did then was solicit letters of interest from members of the public in that ward. The applicants then appeared before the council to make statements and answer questions. Each council member then voted until one of the candidates received the necessary votes. Frank Pohlmann was chosen to fill out the remainder of Schloegel's term but then had to run in the next election if he wished to retain his seat.
The oath of office from this election will be administered Jan. 2 with the first council meeting scheduled for Jan. 13, 2014.
In other election results:
n Lowell Bengry was re-elected mayor of Stephenson, receiving 83 votes in an unopposed race.
n The top three voter getters for Stephenson city council were John Starzynski (87), Ronald G. Zahorik (80), and Keith Kakuk, Jr., (62).
n Voters in Carney-Nadeau voted to renew the operating mill by a vote of 144 to 84.
n The North Central school bonding proposal also passed 367 to 266.
n The second bonding proposal for North Central was also approved 436 to 197.