MARINETTE — The Niagara School District, the Goodman-Armstrong Creek School District and the Menominee Indian School District were all recipients of School Safety grants from the Department of Justice (DOJ), as a product of last session’s bill, 2017 Act 143. The School Safety Grant Program, which is administered by the Office of School Safety at the DOJ, is set to award a total of $100 million in grant funds to schools state-wide to enhance school safety and preparedness with more than $9 million already awarded to school districts throughout Wisconsin. 

Rep. Jeff Mursau, R-Crivitz, who voted in favor of this bill when it was on the Assembly floor this past session, was in attendance for the announcement of the grants and commented, “It was great to be there and see three more great school districts from the area receive these grants. The money from these awards will certainly help provide the needed resources to improve safety in our schools for students and teachers alike.”

For more information and to view the complete list of all 735 schools and school districts that have turned in School Safety Grant applications, persons may visit the DOJ website at