MARINETTE — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Nancy Swenty in Oconto-Marinette County began mailing ballots to eligible voters for the 2017 FSA county committee elections. Producers must return ballots to the Oconto-Marinette County FSA office by Dec. 4, or if returned by mail must be postmarked before Dec. 5, to ensure that the vote is counted. To be eligible to vote, producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program and farmers and ranchers who supervise and conduct the farming operations of an entire farm, even if not of legal voting age.
The election will be conducted for the representative Local Administrative Area (LAA): No. 1, which includes the townships of Goodman, Dunbar, Niagara, Pembine, Beecher, Amberg and Wausaukee.
FSA has modified the ballot, which includes the names of candidates running, making it more easily identifiable and less likely to be overlooked. Ballots are also available at the Oconto-Marinette County FSA office. For more information, persons may visit the FSA website at or call the office at 920-829-5406, ext. 2.